REPORT OF THE CHAIRMAN 88th NATIONAL CONVENTION COMMITTEE ON AMERICANISM-PATRIOTISM SPOKANE CITY CENTER DOUBLETREE HOTEL, SPOKANE, WA OCTOBER 15, 2015

The National Convention Committee on Americanism-Patriotism met in the Hospitality Room (Presidential Suite) of the Spokane City Center DoubleTree Hotel, Spokane, WA, at 0915 on October 15, 2015.

In attendance were:

Chairman: JrPRPNW Daniel E. Holloway, Branch 382

Members: PRPSE Bobby L. Smith, Branch 194

JrPRPWC Peter J. McNamara, Branch 274 PRPSW Gordon C. Hewson, Branch 90

Richard Ruiz, Branch 101

Visitors: PRPNEng Phil Justin, Branch 42

PRPEC Paul Gunther, Branch 182

The results of evaluating the committee reports are as follow:

		First Place
Group I	-	Branch 46
Group II	-	Branch 175
Group III	-	Branch 101
Group IV	-	Branch 186
Group V	=	Branch 294

		Second Place
Group I	-	Branch 24
Group II	-	Branch 93
Group III	-	Branch 201
Group IV	-	Branch 59
Group V	_	Branch 229

		Third Place
Group I	-	Branch 99
Group II	-	Branch 22
Group III	-	Branch 276
Group IV	-	Branch 192
Group V	-	Branch 6

The Walter "Step" Rowell Award for the 1st place overall report goes to Branch 101 (Santa Clara, Calif.).

The Leonard "Swede" Nelson Award for Shipmate of the Year goes to PRPNC Leon Zalewski, Branch 14, Milwaukee, Wis,.

There were no submission for Robert Doherty Award for Shipmate for special recognition.

The committee recommends the theme for 2016-17 Americanism Essay Contest be: "What Memorial Day Means to Me."

The committee also recommends that submissions for awards include the shipmate's bio and be legible. Committee members also asked for clarification on parental photo release statement. The national chairman needs a list of regional chairmen as soon as possible. Regional judges must use the grade sheet (available on the FRA website) when submitting regional winners to the national committee.

I want to thank all the shipmates who participated in evaluating these reports.

I move that this report be received.

In Loyalty, Protection and Service,

JrPRPNW DANIEL E. HOLLOWAY Chairman